RSN Announces Names of the New Littoral Mission Vessels

6:42:00 AM
SINGAPORE, -- The Republic of Singapore Navy (RSN) announced the names of the eight Littoral Mission Vessels (LMVs) today. The RSN's first LMV, RSS Independence, will be launched on 3 July 2015 at a ceremony officiated by Minister for Defence Dr Ng Eng Hen.

The names of the RSN's seven other LMVs are RSS Sovereignty, RSS Unity, RSS Justice, RSS Indomitable, RSS Fortitude, RSS Dauntless, and RSS Fearless.

Beyond reflecting the theme of Singapore's nationhood, these names also carry the ideals that our founding Prime Minister Mr Lee Kuan Yew and our pioneers fought for as well as the attributes they exemplified. These names were selected from more than 12,000 entries received during the LMV Naming Contest held from 12 February to 29 March 2015.

The LMVs will replace the existing Fearless-class Patrol Vessels, which had served the RSN well for close to 20 years. The LMVs will enhance the capabilities of the RSN in enforcing seaward defence and protecting Singapore's vital sea lines of communication.

Artist's impression of the Republic of Singapore Navy next-gen Littoral Mission Vessels (LMVs).

Share this

Related Posts

Next Post »